top of page

C is for Christmas!

It's a surely a worthy contender for a weepy Christmas movie storyline: cancer patient who has been through quite a shit few months with pain, side-effects, chemo, hospital visits etc. The day she is due to fly home for Christmas she has an appointment with her doctor to get the results of the CT scan - will the tumor have reduced in size? .......pause for dramatic effect...

YES!!!! The bugger has shrunk and quite significantly too! And the tumor cell count in my blood, which went from 1,100 before chemo, to 300 after 2nd chemo, measured on 8th December, has dropped even further to 120!!! In sports commentator fashion "What a result!"

Of course, I welled up at the news....finally something is working in my favour; such a relief and also great timing- I'm flying home for Christmas this afternoon.

Now I'm waiting to see the dermatologist about my herpes bottom cheek problem!! I had medication for a week but it hasn't completely gone and has now appeared on my other cheek and on my lower back, conveniently located just at the point where my waistband is, so it rubs quite nicely! Well, hopefully they can give me something to sort it out.

Got weighed this morning and am now 59kg! Hurray- still need to keep eating more because I still feel tired and weak but at least I am gaining not losing. On the subject of weight, I've already told a few people this because I still can't believe it was said but anyway: someone said to me that my lowest weight, 55kg, is what she weighs normally and she is taller than me........

Silence.........mmmm helpful comment. So, of course, my internal translator interprets this as: 'so you were a right fat porker before!' Lovely, don't you just love compliments? Especially when you really need them, because you are feeling really insecure and unhappy with your appearance. No prizes for guessing the nationality of quoted individual!!!

Anyway, nothing can spoil my mood today! (except KLM cancelling my flight of course , but that is unlikely!!)

Another nice development is that I managed to drink some mulled wine...yes, I say managed to because normal wine really doesn't appeal, but the heat element seems to make it more attractive! Whatever it was, it's a nice discovery just before Christmas. I'm looking forward to being at home, Christmas movies, games with the kids, giving presents, tasting Christmas treats, laughing at our parents funny little ways! Just can't wait now!!!


bottom of page